Australia bat; Maxwell and Faulkner left out

Toss Australia chose to bat v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Glenn Maxwell was left out of Australia’s XI © AFP

Steven Smith won the toss and Australia will bat on a pitch expected to provide some pace in the first ODI against New Zealand at the SCG.

Glenn Maxwell, who caused controversy earlier in the week with his comments about a lack of batting opportunities with Victoria, was left out of the XI, with James Faulkner also missing out. Uncapped allrounder Hilton Cartwright has been released from the squad and will play for Western Australia in the Sheffield Shield this week.

New Zealand named express fast bowler Lockie Ferguson for his ODI debut and they have plenty of pace options, with Ferguson joining Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Colin de Grandhomme and James Neesham in the attack, along with spinner Mitchell Santner. Of the 14-man squad, Tim Southee, Todd Astle and Henry Nicholls were left out.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch, 3 Steven Smith (capt), 4 George Bailey, 5 Mitchell Marsh, 6 Travis Head, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Mitchell Starc, 9 Adam Zampa, 10 Pat Cummins, 11 Josh Hazlewood.

New Zealand 1 Tom Latham, 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Jimmy Neesham, 5 Colin Munro, 6 BJ Watling (wk), 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Colin de Grandhomme, 9 Matt Henry, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Australia news from ESPN

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.