India bowl again, Boult returns for New Zealand

India chose to bowl v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo: Trent Boult was back after he was rested for the first ODI © Getty Images

India went five out of five for tosses in the series against New Zealand and opted to bowl again in Delhi. The possibility of dew in the evening influenced MS Dhoni’s decision. He also chose to field the same XI that won the series opener on Sunday.

New Zealand’s batting had come apart in Dharamsala on a pitch that offered assistance to fast bowlers. Feroz Shah Kotla, however, promised better scope for run scoring with Kane Williamson making note of how dry the surface was and how short the straight boundaries were.

He made three changes to the team with fast bowlers Trent Boult and Matt Henry coming back after a rest. Anton Devcich, a batting allrounder who bowls left-arm spin, was also called up to play his first ODI in nearly two years. As a result there was no space for James Neesham, Doug Bracewell and Ish Sodhi.

India 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Ajinkya Rahane, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Manish Pandey, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Umesh Yadav, 10 Amit Mishra, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Corey Anderson, 6 Luke Ronchi (wk), 7 Anton Devcich, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult

Alagappan Muthu is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

India news from ESPN

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.