India bowl as Pandya makes ODI debut

Toss India chose to bowl v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Hardik Pandya makes his ODI debut after playing 16 T20Is © Getty Images

India handed Hardik Pandya an ODI debut and chose to bowl in the first ODI in Dharamsala. MS Dhoni, their captain, did not expect too much help for his spinners from the pitch, and preferred that they bowled before dew set in under lights. Kane Williamson, the New Zealand captain, said he would have preferred to bowl first too.

India went in with a bowling attack containing three seamers in Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah and Pandya and two spinners in Amit Mishra and Axar Patel. As expected, Ajinkya Rahane partnered Rohit Sharma at the top of the order.

New Zealand rested fast bowlers Trent Boult and Matt Henry, and welcomed back Tim Southee and Corey Anderson, who missed the Test series with injuries. With Anderson playing as a pure batsman, New Zealand went in with five bowlers – three seamers in Southee, Doug Bracewell and James Neesham, and two spinners in Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Ajinkya Rahane, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Manish Pandey, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Amit Mishra, 10 Umesh Yadav, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Corey Anderson, 6 Luke Ronchi (wk), 7 James Neesham, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Doug Bracewell, 11 Ish Sodhi

Karthik Krishnaswamy is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

India news from ESPN

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.