Women's World T20 2020 to be standalone competition

Australia's players after their Women's World T20 win in 2014

The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in 2020 will be a standalone tournament, separate from the men’s event.

An International Cricket Council (ICC) board meeting backed Australia’s plan to host the events six months apart.

All five previous women’s World T20s have been staged in parallel with the men’s events, with semi-finals and finals played as double-headers.

“Women’s cricket is undoubtedly gaining in popularity,” said Cricket Australia chairman David Peever.

“We felt that by separating the two events we could accelerate that growth.”

There is already a standalone women’s event scheduled for 2018 in the West Indies, with the ICC yet to confirm a host for the men’s tournament in 2018 which was only recently restored to the schedule.

While double-headers have raised the profile of the women’s game, they have often meant women’s semi-finals and finals played in half-empty stadiums while the crowd gradually arrives for the men’s games.

Australia are confident about the marketability of a women-only tournament after the success of the inaugural Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), which found an audience on free-to-air Australian television last winter.

Peever, also chairman of the ICC’s governance committee, added: “Having the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 as a standalone event means we can hold it in stadiums that we can fill, put it on TV at prime-time and ensure it has the space to be promoted away from the shadow of the men’s game.

“WBBL has taught us that there is an audience for women’s cricket both live and on prime-time television and this decision means we have the opportunity to hold the biggest women’s sporting event ever held in Australia.”

ICC World Twenty20
Hosts Winners (men) Winners (women)
2007 South Africa India
2009 England Pakistan England
2010 West Indies England Australia
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Australia
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka Australia
2016 India West Indies West Indies
2018 TBA (men); WI (women)
2020 Australia

BBC Sport – Cricket

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.